Stars in the Texas Sky – Book Review

I’ve been doing a lot of reading this year, and it’s my pleasure to share this excellent book, by Stephen J. Matlock with you:

STARS IN THE TEXAS SKY by Stephen J. Matlock as reviewed by Sheri J. Kennedy

stars-in-the-texas-sky-coverI was submerged in this world and felt the heaviness of the heat and slow pace of a town reluctant to change as the morality he was just beginning to understand dragged Henry down from a proud young citizen of his beloved town to a burdened and torn individual that longed to be whole again.

Matlock handles the complexities of political power and racial relations in a deeply internal and personal way that allows the reader to feel their way to the moral of the story. I reached inward with Henry Valentine to mend the rift in my heart that has been left by the tragedy of racial oppression, and I ached for his innocence lost.

 

I know Stephen Matlock personally and have had a relationship of mutual feedback and writer/author encouragement with him for several years. I’ve enjoyed the many stories I’ve heard him read, and have watched him continuously hone his craft. I can’t recommend this book enough, and I would be just as enthusiastic in my support for this excellent work if I didn’t know him, but it gives me great pleasure to say that I do. This novel carries classic literary quality in the not so simple story of a boy.

 

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. Reaching inward and venturing outward as the Snoqualmie River flows onward past my doorstep and life runs freely through my being, I set pen to page to share what I perceive. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountain foothills town of North Bend, Washington USA. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Community, Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stars in the Texas Sky – Book Review

  1. Reblogged this on FreeValley Publishing and commented:
    Here’s a review of Featured Author, Stephen Matlock’s book reblogged…

  2. Pingback: Stars in the Texas Sky – Book Review | No Place Like Home

  3. Thanks–that was very kind of you to compliment the book so highly.

What do you think about this?

