D is for Dancing Bones – Book Review

DAnother book I’d highly recommend with a review ready just in time for ‘D’, MISTRESS OF THE DANCING BONES An Avenesse novel by Thomas Alexander
From the instant I began reading, Ashia, our heroine was captivating and her situation compelling. Her intensity and that of her world grew throughout the story keeping me engaged. I was rooted to the page withstanding disgust, terror and horror to see her stand strong.

Alexander is masterful in the integration of the intricately built fantasy world with this powerful coming of age story. Magic is in her blood and the politics of her world are her inheritance—she must come to terms with them to know herself, and she embraces them fully in an unexpected and oddly triumphant way.

At first I wished the novel carried more inner dialogue so I could know the characters better. But when I was done reading, I found I missed them and had come to know them well, especially the unquenchable Ashia. This is NOT another dumb vampire saga.  I’m so glad the next in the series, MISTRESS OF THE MIDNIGHT SKY will be coming soon!

 

Thomas is another authdancing-bones-coveror I have the pleasure of knowing personally. He’s part of my Wednesday Writer’s Cafe’ group, and it’s been amazing to watch his creations come to life. He is a driven writer and dedicated to giving you a well-written, well-presented and highly entertaining read. Mistress of the Dancing Bones is outside of my preferred genre in its inclusion of horror, but the sequences are integral to the story, and I found myself engrossed rather than just grossed out. It was all worth it to watch Alexander’s fully built world emerge, and I didn’t want to miss a single step on Ashia’s dark journey. Fascinating, and I’m buying the next Avenesse novel the moment it’s available. I’d recommend that you do the same!

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, A-Z Challenge, Book Review, Community and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to D is for Dancing Bones – Book Review

  1. Inge H. Borg says:

    Stunning photographs – I look forward to the next ones. Yes, spring might finally be here (alas, so is tornado season).

    Like

  2. I’m looking this one up. Sounds appealing.

    Like

What do you think about this?

