Poetry Mondays – June 14, 1848 by Leigh Stein [The Oregon Trail]

This is not my general kind of post, though if you’ve followed me for some time you know I can take flights in many directions. This just seemed to fit my overworked status when I was looking for a way to explain my uncharacteristically missed daily posts. Enjoy a laugh on me…with some help from some other humorous and fun bloggers. By the way, it’s this photo that cracked me up to the point of having to share…sorry for the dark humor. Sometimes life is like that.orgtr

Be Like Water

[Oregon Trail was one of my favorite games to play back in computer class in high school,

so finding a poem about it brought back fond memories of not finishing my class work

as I happily shoot buffaloes as everyone in my camp dies.]

oregontrail_compgame

Weather: hot. Health: fair.
Dear Diary, had to leave the baby
behind because she wouldn’t eat.

Sent Jon out to shoot a buffalo,
but he said they all looked so peaceful
he couldn’t bring himself to do it.

Figures. We’ll all be dead soon
enough. Waiting for the Indian
to get here so we can cross

the river. June 15, 1848
Weather: still hot. Health: same.
Dear Diary, Chastity’s doll

drowned. She wanted to dive
in after it, but I reminded her
that she doesn’t know how to swim.

oregontrail_hunting

Dove in anyway. Another one lost.
Jon says he’ll skin us a buffalo
so we have something…

View original post 241 more words

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

