Scene 01-07 Behind the Facade

Georges 2 by Sheri J KennedyOut with the old and in with the…older? George’s Bakery is an iconic business in our town. It’s alpine themed facade (pictured below) was one of the last vestiges of North Bend’s attempt at being an alpine village years ago. As I drove by today, the final  bits of the facade were hitting the dumper – literally. The even older sign exposed from beneath it will doubtless be gone soon, and I realized I had the unique opportunity to document it. I pulled over immediately!

I realized I was witnessing history, so I texted a breaking news tip and sent my photo (above) to Living Snoqualmie , a local news source in the Valley. They ran down and got the scoop on what’s up with this new face on our main street and published an Article all about it just a couple hours later. The sign I had photographed was already gone this afternoon. You can see the windows uncovered behind it at the end of the Article.  It was fun to be a part of archiving and spreading the word about a big change to our small town.

georges1Note: This photo is from George’s Bakery’s Facebook page and was not taken by me. -sjk

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Community, Photo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scene 01-07 Behind the Facade

  1. Pingback: Saturday Snapshot | Tommia's Tablet

  2. Pingback: Scene 03-15 Georgia’s Inside and Out | sherijkennedyriverside

What do you think about this?

