F is for Fantastic

Fantastic fits this year’s Norwescon in more ways than one. It is of course a Fantasy and Sci-Fi convention, but I thought the whole production and experience was fantastically well done.

I was part of a vendor or ‘dealer’ table with my indie and published author co-op group FreeValley Publishing, but I also attended the conference as a wide-eyed fantasy and sci-fi fiction fan and especially as a writer. On every level there was plenty to appreciate.

Attendees were supportive of our author table, and conversations, connections and book sales were great. I got to hear a favorite well-known author, Nancy Kress, read the first chapter of her upcoming book that hasn’t even been sold to a publisher yet, as well as learn excellent writing tips from her and other lively and knowledgeable panelists. They all shared their vast experiences and opinions generously. And everywhere I looked there was another delight for the fantasy or science fan’s senses – costumes, niche club tables, demonstrations, incredible artwork etc.

I’d like to give a shout out of THANKS!!! to all of the volunteers, guests and the zany and friendly attendees for making Norwescon 38 Fantastic!

Here are a few more images of highlights:

F

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Community, pacific nw and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to F is for Fantastic

  1. Reblogged this on FreeValley Publishing and commented:
    Here’s another peek and a review of some of our FVP authors’ experiences at Norwescon.

    Like

  2. bertie says:

    Thank you for a delightful peek into Norwescon in your last few posts. I love how you say you felt “oddly normal” and “abnormally odd.” And your D sketchbook pic really captures the essence of why people want to adventure. I really enjoyed my visit to your blog.

    Good luck with the A to Z challenge! You’re off to a really strong start.

    Like

  3. I wish I’d been there 🙂

    Like

  4. love the pics, wish you had grabbed one of me in that corset coat though. Next year!

    Like

What do you think about this?

