Z is for Zephyr

Marion 2008My husband is my zephyr. When he blew into my life things got cooler. The clutter of my overly settled in ways shifted and opened into breezy pathways to something more. Loneliness whispered away and a gentle murmur of two filled the air. Rooms that were stilted in my soul were filled with freshness that lingers and flows, ever-changing and never-ending.

I was reminded of how special this is by a post that a friend of mine wrote. I have known this amazing woman for most of the nine years she speaks of, and I have seen her treat not only her man, and her children this way, but those around her, and I’m so glad she has found solid love, as I have had the privilege to do as well.

But I’m actually placing her post here (with her permission) because I think it’s the best summation of what it takes to have a successful marriage (or relationship, for that matter) that I have seen…And it’s full of heart. You can CLICK HERE to read it on her blog, Casz’s Fiction Farm or make your way through my snippets, but please Read on…

Casz 1Casz 2Casz 3Casz 4ZThanks for another great year of A-Z my friends! It’s been fun to discover more of you out there, and I look forward to continuing to connect with my new followers and those I have found to follow. And thanks to my loyal blog-friends for enjoying this month’s diversion into the alphabetical. I look forward to continuing to connect with you as well! -SJK

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, A-Z Challenge, Community, fun times, Inspirational and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Z is for Zephyr

  1. jazzytower says:

    I love this, we should all be so lucky. Some of us after the first bomb we chicken out ( yeah, I’m raising my hand), I confess. There is much to be said for picking yourself up and dusting yourself off, and start all over again…like the song said.

    Like

    • Yes, I really admire Casz for giving it another go. I am on my first try, and while not always easy, it is wonderful. I chickened out before I started, however. I waited until I was 35 to get married in the first place. I do think it helped to know who I am very well before I tried to relate so closely with someone else. The main thing it changed by being older was I didn’t expect him to change or be ‘husband’ in the same way I would’ve when I was younger. It also gave me perspective to know where I can compromise without compromising my true self. But everyone has to have their own journey, and taking your time rather than diving right in again is almost always a good thing. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • jazzytower says:

        Your expectations when you are younger sure is different, you’re right. And getting to know and love yourself first can only lead to good things. .aah wisdom if only we could sprinkle some in with youth. But I suppose these are the experiences that make life interesting. As my mom would say “that’s how you know you’re alive”. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. caszbrewster says:

    Thanks so much for sharing my post. I’m glad my words rang true for you.

    Like

  3. Zephyr is a new word for me.

    The change in my relationship came when I stopped thinking of my frustrations as being the Boyfriend’s fault, but as my emotions and my responsibility. He’s never going to pack more than 5 minutes before he leaves, he’s never going to think about whether or not we have food in the cupboards until he’s hungry and he’s never going to spring up from the dinner table to wash up. Sometimes it’s hard. Yet, sometimes it’s curling up on the sofa, wrapped in a blanket with a hot chocolate comfort. And other times, it’s whiz, crack and pop magic. All in all, I’m glad he sticks around.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

