Scene 07-03 The Eagle in my Tree is Looking at Me

Scene 07-03This eagle hung out in our cottonwood tree for several hours this morning. He wasn’t much concerned with us down below, but a couple times he leaned his head out of the leaves and looked at me.

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Scene 07-03 The Eagle in my Tree is Looking at Me

  1. Lovely shot, Sherri!

    Like

    • Thanks! It took many tries to get him peeking at me. He was quite content to hide his face, and I didn’t want to go so far as to disrupt him enough for him to take flight. I’ve spent a lot of time stalking birds, so I can generally toe the line on getting my shot while maintaining their acceptable comfort level. On this one I was very tempted to push the limit and go down onto the closer tier of the yard to get a better vantage point, but I gave him his peace. He seemed to be enjoying the perch, and we’d love for him to come back often.

      Liked by 1 person

      • How wonderful to have such a large bird in your yard. With any luck he’ll come back especially as you were careful to give him some peace.

        Like

        • We see them very often flying past or sometimes fishing in the river – the ospreys more than the bald eagles, but I feel it’s a great treat when they stop in our trees and stay awhile. My husband caught some very poor photos of a bald eagle on our shore one day when I was out traveling. He was so excited. It’s rare to see them on the ground for any period of time here. And he was impressed with the enormous size of it. Had they been any clearer I would have posted the pictures, but he zoomed with his phone, and they were sadly not worth sharing further, other than in the telling.

          Liked by 1 person

        • That’s a pity. Often with phone shots they are better if not zoomed as you can often crop them quite successfully afterwards.

          Like

    • Yes, I explained to him about the zooming. He has since got a phone upgrade that should correct such issues for him. The camera quality in it is outstanding, and when he zooms the quality is still about as good as my phone at full size…and I picked my phone for camera quality originally. The updated version of our Sony’s is fantastic in many ways. I hope to upgrade pretty soon too.
      Also, I encouraged him to pick up the ‘real’ camera next time there is something exciting on the beach. I carry the upgrade on that, but the older model that’s always at home was wonderful too and would certainly outdo the phones for that type of photograph. We all live and learn.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry – Sheri!

    Like

What do you think about this?

