Jan 13/16 is Lappies

DSC_1047Ah, laptops. After lugging around my first one several years ago with the fruit of a decision to go big for photo editing, I opted for a netbook for the last few years – so handy for writing on the go. But I got tired of waiting. Waiting to boot up, waiting for pages to load, waiting, most of all to “shut down already!”

I found myself spending less time with my computer and more time with my smartphone, and anything that didn’t fit on the phone, I was going to my nearby work office to do.

When the holidays were approaching my husband suggested I get a new laptop this year. I decided that if I did, I wanted to go bigger again now that they are sleek and lighter. I miss my larger photo view and area to create graphics images or compare documents. It’s a huge splurge for us. But I realized it meant much more than a fun new toy or tech-indulging-extravaganza. It is about buying Time.

More time at home, less time wasted waiting, more time actually writing, socializing with those far away, more time looking at photos and less time editing them. Posts have become a pleasure again. A quick time out to contemplate and share things. No longer a frustrating exercise in waiting and spending idle time staring while things are processing. I am making much better use of my lappie time so I have more time to unplug and take time out for outdoors, home life, and for others.

My favorite thing about the new tool/toy is it has almost instant boot up and shut down. It is ‘solid state’ and has no moving parts inside. It doesn’t heat up, so no overheating slow downs. I can go to a cafe’ at lunch time and start writing as soon as I sit down to eat. I can write up until I actually have to leave and just go! So productive. So liberating.

I also got one of the 2-in-1 models and have opened my options for interacting with my lappie in my own intuitive ways. I can touch the screen when that’s natural and click when I’m feeling linear and precise. I have far more modes of communication with both programs and apps at my fingertips. More artwork tools, more writing tools. More time for creating and more left over to mess around playing games or watching the latest…whatever.

It’s truly amazing to have instant access to a large slice of the world and to have a window into so many minds and visions and feelings. Today I appreciate my laptop.

This year I’m naming each day as a reminder of it unique character that can be enjoyed to its fullest. January 13th is: Lappie

 

 

 

 

 

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Community, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jan 13/16 is Lappies

  1. queenofblank says:

    I need a new laptop. The only thing that usually works anymore is the internet. So I have to do most of my writing in Google Docs. I have sooo many pictures on there and I’m so afraid it’s going to crash before I can get a new one. So my goal this year is to save up for a good laptop. One that could last for a long time. Part of me so bad wants a Macbook. The other part of me cringes at spending that much money on a computer. Gahh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it’s a serious investment. I had to wait and think and save up too. I decided on what type of features were a priority for me and then went to Best Buy and had them recommend what would fit that within my price range. Then I went home and looked at reviews on what they recommended and looked at similar ones at other stores online. In the end, I had one other contender at another store online, and I went back and told the Best Buy guy that if he could convince me why the one at Best Buy was better than the one I showed him on my phone I would go with his recommendation. He easily convinced me due to the startup and shutdown time. I haven’t regretted my choice at all. BTW, have you tried moving your photos to cloud storage like Dropbox? I still have my very old laptop in hopes I can get my music files off of it…lol. I hope you can get your upgrade soon. Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I replaced my netbook with a lap-top last year and have not regretted it for a moment. I am glad you have got your life back!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

