C – Characters

I’ve been spending a lot of time with an alternate set of friends – the characters from my upcoming Steam Era Adventure series, The Unwitting Journeys of the Witty Miss Livingstone.  I’ve also been writing them in my alter-ego pen name, Kennedy J. Quinn.

Along with coming to understand them and laughing at their antics in the manuscript, I’m also having fun finding photos to represent what they look like, and in the case of Miss Liv, dressing as her once or twice.

Here’s how my new friends look:

Mr. Thomas Worthington, Owner of ‘Thomas Worthington’s Most Excellent Bookshop’

Mr. Scott Worthington, Thomas’ brother who has newly arrived to Snoqualmie from Scotland

The Witty Miss LivingstoneMiss Caprice Livingstone, Our Heroine (OK, yes, that’s me.)

And here’s a snippet of the first interaction where the three of them are together in the first book:

Thomas’ strong embrace of his brother dispels my concern at his strange reticence when we first spoke of Scott in the future. If he cares for him so much, I’ll not withhold my affection, though I’m still wary of what kept the elder Thomas guarded.

“Are you rested, Scott? I would value your opinion in the fulfillment of this bargain. It’s become a challenge of integrity now that Miss Livingstone has placed it in my hands to choose the final terms. I’m sure you recall I’ve been charged with the recommendation of literature that’s of equal value to that offered in trade – and also suited to her particular education and enjoyment.”

“Yes, an interesting challenge indeed,” Scott’s green eyes flash at me, accenting a discomfiting smirk. “I believe our collective opinions will be of even greater value to her than just your own. Although to give the best advice I need to become further acquainted with Miss Livingstone. It’s my pleasure to assist.” His green eyes flash at me again.

I’m prepared to hold on to my hat – remembering what followed yesterday when the first Mr. Worthington sought to discover my preferences. I wonder what Mr. Scott Worthington will ask of me?

“Very well. I’ll give you one question to Miss Livingstone.” Thomas directs.

Scott’s gaze considers the beams overhead. “What’s the best book you’ve ever read and why?” he delivers with a piercing stare into my eyes.

“Oh…oh my. I’ve never had such a subjectively phrased question given me on the subject. It’s always regarding the most valuable or prestigious or most educational. ‘The best?’ I shall have to ponder it, for it concerns my own opinion and taste.”

“Exactly, Miss. For what better way to gage value than what you desire?”

I’m avoiding his eyes, but I can’t seem to hide my smile. I had given Thomas return of his attentions before he came at me so. Scott’s bolder than his brother with no encouragement whatsoever. Oh dear, I must answer him in some way that will keep my pride.

“Thirst for good literature is a noble desire, indeed.” That should foil his attempt at flirtation.

“Not to be denied.” His eyes glitter as he raises an eyebrow suggestively.

Now that it’s about literature, my laugh bubbles forth freely. Thomas does not look amused.

-by Kennedy J. Quinn, Copyright Sheri J. Kennedy – All Rights Reserved.

C

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, Adventure, books, Community, Fiction, fun times, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to C – Characters

  1. LOVE your (uh, Miss Caprice’s) outfit!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

