G – Get in the Game!

CardsI had one of those playground dreams last night. I was an adult who returned to school to visit. The high school kids were playing a game which used a huge metal circle suspended overhead with clips that held one card above each person’s head.

The person who started the game pulled down their card and ran across the circle to someone and gave them that card. Then they both tried to grab the card suspended overhead. If the first person got the card then they got to retrieve their original card, keep the new card and move on to another person. If the second person got the card, they kept both cards and went on to the next person. To win, you collected all the cards.

I kept watching through several rounds, fascinated by the game but intimidated to play since I wasn’t sure I could reach the cards overhead very well. (I’m short.)

At last I decided to join. I was really excited to try it out! I accidently pulled my card down and was trying to put it back when an old teacher of mine walked up to me. I started to greet him with enthusiasm but he shook his head ‘no’. 

I thought he was saying not to acknowledge him. But when I finally got my card replaced in its clip, I realized he and all the players were gone. He had been shaking his head to tell me it was too late. The game was over.

I woke up and carried a feeling of disappointment into my day. I was wishing I didn’t wait so long. Now I’ll never get to try the cool new game. It looked like a lot of fun.

No matter what you’re interested in, don’t let intimidation hold you back. If you don’t do well you MIGHT feel disappointed, but if you don’t try at all, you KNOW you will. Get in the Game!

G

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, Community, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to G – Get in the Game!

  1. Next girl’s night, I promise…the whole schebang. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

