It’s History

20160527_210641 blur

The best thing about editing my steam era time travel novel, The Unwitting Journeys of the Witty Miss Livingstone, is I get to learn bits and pieces of history. It’s somewhat ironic that I’m writing a story steeped in history and alternate history since it was my least preferred subject in school. I blame the curriculum and perhaps some agenda-driven teachers. The history I was taught was a series of wars strung together by a few interesting tidbits which I clung to like this banner will cling to the lamp post in the upcoming storm.

Now I get to search for the tasty treats of color amongst the looming storms of mankind’s unfolding and drop them into my story as delicious morsels to enhance the flavor of fanciful fiction. Ahhh… I hope you’ll ride upon the steam train of my dreams when published this October. Stay tuned…

I took this photo in Snoqualmie this evening – the setting for the base of my heroine’s life in 1910. I was inspired to use this setting when the Northwest Railway Museum brought a steam engine to the town’s festival ‘Railroad Days’ in 2014. I live about 8 miles from the Snoqualmie depot, built in 1890.

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Community, Fiction, novels, pacific nw, Photo, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s History

  1. History was also my worst subject until I got to college and took music history and I think your post made me realize why. Every general history class I’ve taken focuses on war and I never thought about that until now.

    Like

    • Yeah, it’s unfortunate that they do that. There are so many other interesting things in the past, and the personal stories often interest me the most. Autobiographies can be a great way to learn and enjoy the story at the same time. I really liked Nelson Mandela’s Long Walk to Freedom. I read the book, but I didn’t see the movie. I suspect the book is better because it was a lot of the small things he said that were profound to me, even more so than the amazing thread of his story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. dave says:

    so… quite the language you’re using these days! 😉 fortunately being me i’ve never let school, or anyone else really, get in the way of my education – ESPECIALLY history! peace

    Like

    • Probably explains why you love history and I didn’t. I also had the disadvantage of reading so slowly that I didn’t have time to read much beyond my assignments. I got to branch out more in English because I had teachers that assigned us to read books of our choice and do reports on them. So I got to follow my own interests more in that subject, and it was probably part of what made me like it the best.

      Like

What do you think about this?

