Good Morning, River

As promised, some pictures from that sunny morning when the river lured me to it’s edge before I started my busy day. The dipper was visiting. The American Dipper is an amazing bird, and the only songbird that swims underwater. I didn’t catch him fully swimming this time, but I got a pretty video of him fishing HERE. (Be sure to choose HD setting to view well.)

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Birds, nature, pacific nw, Photo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Morning, River

  1. It’s always beautiful when it’s about nature.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A bit of sunshine makes such a difference doesn’t it? We haven’t had too much sun in the past week or so. Great video of the Dipper!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Clare. It got very cold last night. I would guess about 4 degrees – dropped well below 40 Fahrenheit. It does make one appreciate the beauty of the sunny spots more when they are scattered. Hope you get some more soon. I like it when I can catch the dipper swimming, but the water was very pretty for this video and it’s still fun to watch him busy and bobbing in the water and rocks.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I especially like the ones where the water is reflecting green light.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, me too. That section of river is closely visible from our house and I enjoy breakfast with that view on sunny mornings for most of the year. In winter the angle of the sun and later sunrise take that away for awhile…not to mention it’s usually cloudy here in the winter. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, and I just realized the green goes away because the leaves are gone in the winter. So on clear days it is mostly blue with some reddish brown tones from the trees and some darker green from the evergreens. It’s still pretty, but nothing beats the green for me.

        Like

What do you think about this?

