Turtles and Tequila

I’ve been working so much on writing, but of course my inner visual artist is never truly dormant. So I jumped at the chance to do a little painting…and a little drinking…with friends.  We all worked from the same sample image (to the left of my head in my standing portrait below) and were given some minimal instruction from a teacher. Part of the fun was seeing all the different interpretations of the same thing. These painting and cocktail events are common in our area, and I love to try my hand at tipsy painting occasionally. This one served up excellent jalapeno margaritas and a painting that reminded me of the Hawaiian turtles from my vacation last year. Such fun!

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Artwork, Community, fun times and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Turtles and Tequila

  1. What a great idea! I love the results! Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve done this three times, and I’m always amazed how differently everyone paints the same thing. Repeating it with a same friend, I see her interpretation pattern as well as my own. I paint wispier than most and she paints in more solid color blocks than most of the class. Interesting…

      Like

  2. Wow, how nice. And I can see many beautiful turtles! Painting with some booz? Why not? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. DukTape says:

    That’s so cool! I haven’t been able to get in on any of these sessions around here — I find out too late or it’s the wrong day. I did it once in Chicago and once in Portland, though, and it was great fun! I did the painting of Gizmo in Portland at a special paint your pet night. Each person worked from a photo.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

