Vibrant

Recently I took part in a writing contest to honor and support Sue Vincent. 99 words in response to this photo and ‘Hidden.’ We’ve lost Sue from this world now, but I love that my poem in her honor was named, Vibrant. That’s the exact word I would use to describe her unique and amazing spirit. You can find the winners and all of the entries in this 99 word or 99 syllable contest HERE.

Photo credit: Sue Vincent She will be missed!

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Community, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vibrant

  1. Clare Pooley says:

    Such a lovely poem, Sheri!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this, which is what inspired me to share the last of my writing for the prompt. I miss Sue and her lovely work that inspired such great stories and poem. Beautiful. Sheri.

    Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    It looks like I neglected to comment on what a great poem this is (not to mention the photo!). This is one that I can hear being read aloud, with all that rhythm getting the message across.

    Like

    • Thanks! Yes, this style of poetry is meant to be read. Since, prior to shutdowns, I did readings often, I imagine the words aloud or chant them while paring down the original draft. How nice that you picked up on it!
      With this piece, rhythm is important in expressing the theme for me. Natural seasons and seasons of life and time seem very much about rhythm, and so it was written.

      Like

What do you think about this?