Scene 11/04 Momentous Mountains

IMG_20151104_125635

My NaNoWriMo novel this year is set here in the Snoqualmie Valley in 1910. I thought I’d share an excerpt where Miss Livingstone looks up to Mt. Si as she contemplates taking a journey on an alternate time line:

“Will you remember what has unfolded so far, in the future, as you have seen it now?” Again MJ hit the mark as quickly as my own mind arrived at the point.

“I don’t know.”

We are both silent this time.

“But I will go.” I declared.

“So be it.” She accepted in my support.

“I just wanted you to know. Like on my other journeys. I know if you can you will keep me safe and cover for me.”

“Of course.” Her words were spoken with less conviction that her first pledged support. But then undoing the future’s past is quite a different thing. In looking at her I see she is no less resolute, she just holds less enthusiasm for the task. Life or Death is easy to commit to protect, but Life or life is a bit of a conundrum.

“I’d like to go sooner rather than later.”

“Do you mean now?”

“Now? I hadn’t…I mean I couldn’t…Now that you mention it, why not?”

MJ was not only silent, but she looked away out across the forested land on the far side of the Adam’s property across the river and toward the mountain. She raised my eyes to Mt. Si, and I realized that this idea was bigger than all of it. I could change the foundations of things on this path and the landscape that once was could pass away forgotten. I removed my glove and reached for the key before I could turn from my choice. I must know. I will hold the alternate way in the palm of my hand and the future in my grasp.

from THE UNWITTING JOURNEYS OF THE WITTY MISS LIVINGSTONE – Book 2: The Memory Key

by Kennedy J. Quinn  copyright Sheri J. Kennedy, All Rights Reserved

I’m going to put up my NaNoWriMo Word Count Chart each day after with my progress. Please find me as a buddy on the site if you are also a Wrimo. I’m Quinnleeeee. If you are ‘homeless’ please feel free to Home with Snoqualmie Valley Region from near or far, and we will cheer you on!

Day Three Total 5,142

Day Three Total 5,142

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Community, Novel excerpt, Photo, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scene 11/04 Momentous Mountains

  1. Reblogged this on Lance Greenfield and commented:
    I love this. It’s a great start to NaNoWriMo and this excerpt has sucked me in already!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

