Jan 18/16 is Skating

DSCN5334When I arrived at work this morning I was stressed. So much to do that I had leftovers from last week. I was worried about adding the usual stack of tasks that come in by phone on Mondays.

But when my boss arrived, he asked if we should close for Martin Luther King Day. I said, “Yes!” but I had too much to do to go home. So we locked the door and set the phones on afterhours, and I skated through the day. It was so freeing to work on things at my own pace without interruption and only talk when I chose to call out. I got so much done! It was wonderful to be skating.

It reminded me of this duck photo I took a few weeks ago. I thought this image came out really well with a watercolor treatment too. Which one do you like better?

Preset Style = Vibrant
Output Size = Medium
Lightness = Normal

This year I’m naming each day with the hope it will be a reminder to cherish what is unique about each one. Today is: Skating

 

About sherijkennedyriverside

Left brain, right brain, I can't decide. After many years of successful visual arts pursuits, I'm working on my other creative inclinations. For the past 8 years, writing has been my second full time job, and it's worth every sleepless night. Sheri J. Kennedy grew up mostly a city-girl coasthopping from Seattle to rural Pennsylvania, Miami and back to Seattle. She currently resides on the banks of the Snoqualmie River in the scenic Cascade Mountains. Her heart has found its home.
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jan 18/16 is Skating

  1. They’re both very cool. And I feel like I am trying to compare apples and oranges. A photo of reality to a beautiful piece of art.

    Like

    • I have the same problem. I think I’m asking you to do something I can’t do myself in the choosing. If I use the, ‘what if I had to never see one of them again’ method, I would keep the watercolor. But I really miss the back foot of the duck on the ice. I love how you can see both of her feet in full movement.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t choose either! Both are lovely in their own way. How wonderful to be free to get through your tasks without interruption! You must have felt the stress flowing away.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

